March Madness

Madison Andrews, Editor

Some of you (unless you are a basketball fanatic) are probably wondering what March Madness exactly stands for. March Madness just so happens to be a single-elimination tournament played each spring in the United States. This particular event can also be known as The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament. Sixty-eight college basketball teams that make up Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association vie for the National Championship.

Spring 2017 has definitely made its mark for this year’s March Madness. Just recently, South Carolina won 77-70 against Florida, which was a bit of a shocker for some individuals after Florida made an outstanding comeback when beating Wisconsin right as the buzzer went off. It also became a huge surprise for several people when North Carolina beat Kentucky 75-73 with 0.3 seconds left on the clock.

One never knows what can happen with March Madness. We now have a final four: South Carolina, Gonzaga, Oregon, and North Carolina. South Carolina and Gonzaga play this Saturday at 5:09 p.m., while Oregon and North Carolina play at 7:49 p.m. Only TWO of these teams will play at the National Championship. I can definitely see why everyone call this event March Madness. The anticipation will have to hold out until April 1st!